Smoked Chicken Scones

For me, a whiff of smoked paprika brings with it some old culinary memories. Most notably: the times I tried to cook as an eleven or twelve year old.

On certain occasions back then, I remember volunteering myself to cook dinner for everybody in the house – even though it would mostly be a dish as simple as Bolognese, I’d always be determined to get it right.

However, getting it right was often approached with the almost dangerous mindset of ‘the more flavours the better,’ and would involve me throwing a few tablespoons of every herb and spice from drawer into saucepan. Eeek.

I’m sure the smiling and nodding from my family while eating these dinners was because everything I served up was genuinely tasty (:P), and beneath my pride of getting everybody to the dinner table, I can’t help remember the very obvious aroma of smoked paprika that surfaced from multiple other flavours. To this day I regard it as a feisty spice, and I love it.

With regards to what this has to do with these spicy chicken scones, I was only reliving this memory the other day as I was gathering together the ingredients for them.

 

I’ve always been intrigued by cheesy, meaty scones as I’m a fan of the texture of scones and can completely understand their potential to be savoury. As well as the thought of adding smoked paprika to my take on savoury scones (which turned out amazing in the end), I wanted to also eliminate processed flour to make them more nutritious and I also wanted to add my own twist to any traditional ideas which are common to savoury scones. Such as plain cheese and ham ones.

Well, I really hope you enjoy them, and believe me, trying them is definitely a recommendation. I’ve always found making scones straightforward without a massive clean-up and nothing has really changed here. These guys are best kept stored in an airtight container in a dark place and consumed within a day. 😊

INGREDIENTS

  •  Quinoa flour, x3 cup
  • Tabasco sauce, x3 drops
  • Tomato chutney, x3 tblspns
  • Smoked paprika, x2 tblspns
  • Roasted red peppers, x3 tblspns finely chopped
  • Fresh coriander, x2 tblspns chopped
  • Unsalted butter, 40g
  • Chicken pieces, 140g (I used Greene Farm torn roast chicken pieces).
  • Almond milk, 1 cup
  • Free range eggs, x2
  • Baking powder, 1 tblspn
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • Fresh pesto, x2 tblspns
  • Psyllium husks, x1 tblspn (optional, adds more fibre)

14805473_10210681212644429_1378471601_n

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Into a blender, add the milk, butter, Tabasco, pesto and tomato chutney. Blitz into a smooth mixture.
  3. Making sure to de-clump, sift the flour, baking powder, sea salt and paprika  into a large mixing bowl. Mix together, add it all to the previous mixture and beat together until even (approx. 2 mins).
  4. Add the chicken pieces, chopped roasted peppers and coriander; either beat for a minute or stir in well with a tblspn.
  5. Empty the dough out onto a floured counter (it will be a sticky mixture) gently push the dough down with palms until it’s a couple centimetres thick. Add some more flour to the dough if it becomes too difficult to work with.
  6. Making sure hands are washed, tear away the same amount of dough for each scone, roll between palm and hand and then flatten slightly before placing onto the tray.
  7. Place the dough onto a tray covered with baking paper and bake for approx. 20-25 mins or until the dough has risen and the scones are golden brown. cool on a cooling rack for a few minutes before consuming 😍🍴

Catch the latest on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat= @EndorphinStew. 😀👍🏼

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑