Coconut Cashew Cake Bars

Whoever it was that first thought up the idea of banana nice-cream, you are a Godsent. Not only does it prove that wholefoods give processed garbage a run for its money a lot of the time (I’d choose a nice old spoon of blended frozen banana over ice-cream any day at all), but it also comes to extreme aid in terms of topping off your baking.

By no means am I a cake guru, nor was I ever a National Junior Baker winner growing up or anything like that, but I can say I’ve been really enjoying experimenting with it for the past while, and I find it intriguing how a gooey bowl of mush can transform into something so delicious and filling with the help of a little heat 🙂

However, I won’t admit that it’s at all easy, and one big problem I have with baking is straddling between the fine lines of Too Moist and Too Dry. Looking back at my Protein Cake Bars and with the advice of others, I realised that I was leaning more towards Too Dry.

After some careful consideration, I recently produced an updated version of these cake bars, ensuring that – even without a slab of nice-cream added to the top – they were more moist and also a lot tastier too. If I knew everything there was to know about cooking and baking, of course food blogging would be a lot easier…but would it be as exciting if there was no learning and discovery involved? I highly doubt that. 😉

To the lady who messaged me saying my cake bars were too dry, I'm genuinely grateful for the constructive criticism because, to grow and learn, @EndorphinStew needs that honesty! 👍🏼😀 I've made a few changes to them this morning and they ended up a lot more delish than before (ingredients below & will be up on @endorphinstew soon). The key was using less flour and serving with some banana nice cream. I've left out the protein powder in these guys to leave them with more wholesome sources of protein, but substitute protein powder for the other flours if you'd like that in. 😉 If anybody else tries my recipes, don't forget to use the hashtag #EndorphinStew for a regram! COCONUT CASHEW CAKE BARS, INGREDIENTS: Cashew butter (3/4 cup), Peanut butter organic (1 cup), Melted coconut oil (1/2 cup), Free range eggs (4), Quinoa flour (1/2 cup), Coconut flour (1/2 cup), @lidlireland jumbo oats (1 cup), honey/blackstrap molases/maple syrup 5 tblspns, Handful of almonds, handful of @chiabiaseed, Sprinkle of nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon. Bake for 30 mins approx and follow method here: https://endorphinstew.com/2016/01/06/sugar-free-protein-brownies/. So wholesome! 📷, 👻 and FB= @EndorphinStew #EndorphinStew

A post shared by Snap: tasteofeire (@tasteofeire) on

So before you skip on to the recipe, I’d like to mention again that these, in my eyes anyway, are a step up from the previous recipe like it on their own, but to top it off even further, you have got to try them with a nice dollop of nice-cream as well. I don’t know if I’m craving the cakes more than the nice-cream at the moment, or if I just badly want both together? 😛 If you try these out, please don’t forget to let me know how you got on with them or even hashtag #EndorphinStew with your creations on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. 😉

INGREDIENTS

Find out how to make banana nice-cream in my previous post.

  • Cashew butter, 3/4 cups
  • Organic peanut butter, 1 cup
  • Organic oats, 1 cup
  • Melted coconut oil, 1/2 cup
  • Free range eggs, x4
  • Quinoa flour, 1/2 cup
  • Coconut flour, 1/2 cup
  • Honey/Agave syrup/blackstrap molases/maple syrup, x5 tblspns
  • Handful of almonds
  • Chia seeds, x1 tblspn
  • Nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon, tspn of each

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Using an electronic mixture (if possible) beat the cashew and peanut butters with the melted coconut oil and sweetener for approx. 2 mins at a medium speed.
  3. Add the eggs one by one, mixing for approx. 30 seconds between each egg.
  4. After grounding the almonds using a mortar and pestle (having a few unground nuts isn’t only fine, I highly recommend it), add them into a large mixing bowl with the oats, spices, chia seeds, quinoa flour and coconut flour. Mix well with a whisk.
  5. Add the dry mixture into the electronic blender and mix at a relatively high speed until you’re left with a thick, fudgy mixture (if it ends up too dry somehow, add another egg).
  6. Oil the side of a baking tray or – recommended – a silicone baking tray with some coconut oil. I melt the coconut oil first, drizzle it on the tray and then spread using the back of a spoon.
  7. Add the mixture to the baking tray, making sure to beat it down and together gently using the back of a spoon.
  8. Bake for 30 mins approx. Pierce down the centre with a skewer after this time and if it comes out clean, you’re good to go! If not – stick the mixture back into the oven for a few mins.
  9. Place the ‘loaf’ onto a cooling rack and leave to cool for at least 10 mins before cutting into square portions and serving.

Catch the latest on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @EndorphinStew. 😀

 

One thought on “Coconut Cashew Cake Bars

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑