Crustless Quiche: A French Toast and Fitness Collab

Hi guys, I hope you’re all keeping great today! 🙂

One big trigger behind some of the recipes I try out for this blog, is how much they resonate with my past. In this case, I’m remembering the carefree summer days of my youth, the times I’d run around the countryside too excited to think about food, but when it was laid down on an outdoor table, boy was it appreciated. Person raising both hands in celebration

          Smack bang in the middle of one of those tables and memories is a homemade quiche; the first one I’d ever tried. My friend Aaron’s house was like a second home to me back then and I remember his Mam Kathleen convincing me to try it out for the first time. That recipe has gone and went throughout the years with sentimentality and always with the regret that I’d never had a quiche as nice as it since then. Saying that, the only ones I’d tried until last weekend were processed ones from supermarkets, with an overpowering pastry base that made me feel as though my good times with quiche were history. 😦

Breakfast prepped for the week 👊 Made a crustless quiche with bacon, cheese, broccoli, and spinach 👌🏻

A photo posted by Eimear (@frenchtoastandfitness) on Feb 21, 2016 at 5:55am PST

 

          With this is mind, I was absolutely delighted to come across this post by Eimear recently which, for two reasons I was immediately willing to try: 1) it was homemade, 2) it was crustless, so it wasn’t going to give me any pastry nightmares. Due to what was lying around the house and some of Endorphin Stew’s veggie and herb preferences, I’ve also put a bit of a twist on it. Don’t worry though, I’ll post a link back to Eimear’s original recipe too as it is super tasty! 🙂

INGREDIENTS

Quiche 2

  • 9 eggs
  • Cumin, basil oregano
  • 2 tblspns freshly chopped coriander
  • 1 red pepper, chopped and sautéed
  • 1 grated organic beetroot,
  • 50g Glensallagh flamegrilled chicken
  • 250g bacon lardons
  • Tblspn of Kania oregano
  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1/2 bag spinach
  • 150g Rathdaragh mature red cheese, grated
  • Rapeseed oil

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat a non-stick frying pan on high heat.
  2. Add the rapeseed oil, and fry the bacon and chicken pieces until just cooked.
  3. Put the meat aside, and add a little more oil to the pan.
  4. Turn down the heat to medium, then add the red pepper and fry until soft – about 3-4 minutes
  5. In the mean time, steam the broccoli florets until tender – about 4 or 5 minutes (you can do this in the microwave if you don’t have a steamer)
  6. Chop up the bacon into smaller pieces, and add to the onion, once softened
  7. Beat the eggs together with a fork until thoroughly mixed
  8. Add the broccoli to the pan, followed by your herbs and strings of betroot, then pour over the egg mixture
  9. Add the spinach and stir into the mixture in the pan until a little wilted
  10. Sprinkle the cheese on to the pan, and once the egg mixture has been cooking for about 5 minutes, transfer the pan to under the grill on a medium heat
  11. Grill the mixture for about 15 minutes – you’ll know it’s done when a knife comes out clean from the centre
  12. Leave to cool for a few minutes, then cut into slices and enjoy!

 

As always, thanks a million for reading this today guys! If you’re interested, you can keep up to date via my Instagram and Facebook pages. 🙂 Oh, and check out Eimear’s Instagram page and blog too! 😀

 

Until the next time,
Happy healthy eating,
Ryan. 😀
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑