Uncle Pete’s Protein Flapjacks

It’s true that some of the best recipes any food blogger can bring to the table are those which stem from their family culture. Luckily for me, I have a massive family, so foodspiration is something I’ll never fall short on.

From my Aunties various kinds of dishes and baked goods, to Mary’s (too young to be called Granny yet)  traditional Sunday dinners, I grew up with great, wholesome meals at the  heart of all family gatherings.

And if my uncle-in-law Pete’s addition to the family has in any way tampered with the McDonnell’s long-lived tradition of good food, I can tell  so far that it’s only been to enhance it. 😉

After tasting his protein flapjacks once before, I’ve since been at him to share the recipe for my blog. I’m delighted he has and I know that liking them just won’t be a question for anybody who tries them out!

Due to simply not having some ingredients and my attempt to make a few extra healthy additions, I’ve slightly tweaked the recipe and all changes will be highlighted in bold. I’ll post the originals at the bottom of the post for anybody interested. So here it goes, I hope you enjoy them. Thanks again Pete! 🙂

Flapjack single
INGREDIENTS
  • 250g rolled oats
  • 50g unsalted pecan nuts (can be any nut of choice)
  • 20g Flaxseed
  • 20g sesame seeds
  • 2 tblspoons of Good4UNutrition Super Fruit and Seed Mix
  • 60g Whey protein (I used strawberry flavoured My Protein powder)
  • 100g organic peanut butter
  • 200ml almond milk
  • 4 tblspoons honey
  • 1 tblspoon raw coconut oil
BENEFITS
Pete's image
Depending on which protein powder you use,  if you use a type of flour in place of it, and whether you decide to substitute the honey for another sweetener, these guys can be completely vegan, sugar-free and dairy free, whilst still remaining a nutritious, high protein snack! 😀
INSTRUCTIONS
Pre-oven stage
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Mix the oats, pecan nuts, flaxseed, Good4u mix, sesame seeds, and whey protein in a mixing bowl using a hand whisk or in an electric mixer.
  3. On a low heat, gently melt the peanut butter, coconut oil and honey together and add the melted mixture to the bowl of dry contents. Mix well and add the almond milk.
  4. Empty the contents into a baking tin (I used a silicone one as seen above) lined with some coconut oil or any oil of choice.
  5. Pat down the mixture using the back of a tblspoon until the surface is even throughout and everything is compressed.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes, and when out of the oven, leave to cool on a cooling rack for at least ten minutes before cutting the baked product into small squares. It’s suggested to leave the flapjacks for another 10 minutes before serving.
  7. Enjoy guys! 🙂

ADJUSTMENTS

I used:

  • 4 tblspoons of honey instead of 2 tblspoons of golden syrup
  • 2 tblspoons of Good4UNutrition Super Fruit and Seed Mix instead of 20g pumpkin seeds
  • 20g sesame seeds instead of 20g sunflower seeds
  • 60g whey protein (strawberry flavoured My Protein powder) instead of chocolate cookie flavour  
As always, thanks a billion for reading guys! If you like what you’ve seen today, you can catch future posts over on my Facebook and Instagram pages. You can also drop your email into the subs box below if you wish. 😉
Until the next time,
Happy healthy eating,
Ryan. 🙂
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑