Feature: French Toast and Fitness

Hi guys,

I hope the week has greeted you well and those New Year (Monday/Feb the 1st) resolutions are going strong. 😉 Thankfully, my dreaded Christmas exam results have arrived and in a much better way than I’d expected, so…hurrah; more time for eating/food blogging!!

Along with a meal prep post I’ll be doing this week, I’m delighted to be sharing a little collab I did with @frenchtoastandfitness, who a lot of you more than likely already know and love. 🙂 Before Instagram, I already knew of Eimear from going to school in the same area, but since discovering her awesome page, her stuff has become an obsession of mine!

This week I tried out her protein pancakes and it made me furious that I hadn’t made them sooner. The egg, protein powder, oat and banana mixture turned out absolutely unreal in the end, and as you can probably tell from below, there was no holding myself back when it came to eating them!

Anyway, enough of my rambling…it’s time to hear from the lady herself. I’ve a feeling you’re going to love what you see so don’t forget to check out her blog if you haven’t already! 😀

Hey Guys!

I’m Eimear from FrenchToastandFitness, and I’m here to share a few of my high protein recipes to Ryan’s lovely followers! I don’t preach any particular nutrition philosophy – time has thought me that different things work for different people. If you’re happy eating clean, vegan, paleo, low carb, or whatever else, and it’s working for you, then great! What I strive for with my diet is to eat plenty of healthy food to nourish my body, and a few treats to nourish the soul 😉

First up is my baked French toast. It’s super easy to make – just prep the night before, and then pop in the oven the next morning! It’s really versatile, so you can experiment with different types of bread, protein powers, and toppings. The basic recipe has a whopping 37g of protein and only 380 kcal! Tastes pretty good too, if I do say so myself!

You’ll need:

  • 100g egg whites (about 2 egg whites)
  • 2 slices bread
  • 25g protein powder (I use MyProtein salted caramel whey
  • 100ml milk (I use coconut almond milk)
  • Low cal spray/coconut oil for cooking
  • Toppings of choice – yoghurt, fruit, chocolate chips, maple syrup, sugar free syrup, nut butter, choc shot, goji berries, bee pollen etc.

Directions:

  1. Whisk the egg whites, protein powder, and milk together until smooth. You can alternatively put them in a shaker bottle and shake until smooth.
  2. Add your bread to an oven proof dish, and pour the mixture over the slices evenly.
  3. Refrigerate overnight (or for a few hours).
  4. The next day pop the dish in the oven for 20 minutes at 180C.
  5. Add your toppings and enjoy!

Nutritional Information:

37g Protein, 40g Carbohydrate, 7g Fat, and 380 kcal

Next up are some simple protein pancakes. I like to keep the batter pretty basic, then add loads of yummy toppings! I love making a big stack of pancakes for breakfast, but they also work great as dessert… Or any meal really 😉 Enjoy!

You’ll need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 banana
  • 20g oats
  • 25g protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Coconut oil/1 calorie spray for frying
  • Toppings of choice – Greek yoghurt, berries, chocolate chips, maple syrup etc.

Directions:

  1. Heat up a non-stick frying pan on the hob and add some oil/1 cal spray.
  2. Add the eggs, banana, oats, protein powder, and baking powder to a Nutribullet/blender and whizz it all up until smooth
  3. Add a little batter to the heated pan, and cover with a lid – this helps it cook faster and more evenly.
  4. When you begin to see little bubbles on the pancake, it’s time to flip it – the key to it not falling apart is a good quality non-stick pan!
  5. Assemble your stack of pancakes, and then add toppings.

Nutritional Information:

35g Protein, 39g Carbohydrate, 13g Fat and 400 kcal

Hope you guys enjoy the recipes, be sure to tag me on Instagram @frenchtoastandfitness if you try any of them!

xoxo

Eimear

 

 

 

One thought on “Feature: French Toast and Fitness

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑