Sugar-free protein brownies

Over the course of the past year, I’ve been working out more than I ever have in my life. The thrills, joys and release from exercise have become more real to me; the endorphin rush has set me on a path that will be difficult to disrupt.

But with the help of my New Years resolution, and of course a huge bag of protein powder, I’m stepping things up a notch. 2016 is the year I start taking my fitness goals very seriously.

The first step

Finished product

You’ve probably noticed by now that food has become top priority for me in the past few months. Not that I like using clichรฉs, but I’m afraid ‘abs are made in the kitchen’ rings true here.

Of course, simple protein shakes and proats will do the job when it comes to wanting gains, but I’ve decided that I’m going to make my commitment to protein more solid than that in accompanying my fitness goals, I’m going to incorporate as much protein as I can into my baking.

I’ve already shared my chocolate protein muffins recipe, which I’ll certainly be making and switching up consistently over the next while, and I’m delighted to be sharing another protein recipe today. It’s not often that I’ve gotten a compliment from everybody in the house on one of my recipes as I did with this! ๐Ÿ™‚

INGREDIENTS

Protein powder and flour
Protein powder and flour.
  • Softened olive oil butter, 3/4 cup
  • Smooth peanut butter (organic, without syrups or sugars), 1 cup
  • Melted coconut oil, 1/3 cup
  • Eggs (I used free range), x3
  • Plain flour, 1 3/4 cups
  • Coconut flour, 1/2 cup
  • Organic cocoa powder, 1/4 cup
  • Organic clear honey, 4 tbl spoons
  • Baking powder, 1 tblspoon
  • Pinch of salt
  • Vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon
  • Ground cashews and almonds, about a handful
  • Scoop of protein powder, I used the My Protein strawberry flavoured whey which is 80g of protein per a 100g scoop

BENEFITS

  • Adding coconut flour to the flour mixture adds fibre, which is needed for healthy digestion.
  • Coconut oil is high in healthy fats that help lower the risk of heart disease.
  • Almonds help lower cholesterol and cashews are good for bones.
  • Olive oil helps lower cholesterol, butter is a great energy source.
  • Studies have shown that honey can be as effective in treating coughs and sore throats as conventional cough syrups.
  • Plain, unsweetened cocoa powder has twice the antioxidant content as processed dark chocolate.
  • Eggs are a great source of vitamin D, B-complex and trace minerals that support cellular development and a healthy nervous system.

Nutritional info was taken from the awesome Neal’s Yard Remedies Healing Foods, a DK publication.

INSTRUCTIONS

Final mixture
How my mixture looked just before I popped it into the oven.
  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Using an electronic mixture (if possible) beat the olive oil butter with the melted coconut oil and honey for approx. 2 mins at a medium speed.
  3. Add the eggs one by one, mixing for approx. 30 seconds between each egg.
  4. Add the peanut butter and vanilla extract to the mixture and blend until you have a slightly thicker mixture.
  5. After grounding your cashews and almonds using a mortar and pestle (having a few unground nuts isn’t only fine, I highly recommend it), add them into a large mixing bowl with the plain flour, coconut flour, cocoa powder, protein powder, baking powder and salt. Mix well with a wisk until you see that the cocoa powder has dispersed throughout.
  6. Add the flour mixture into the electronic blender and mix at a relatively high speed until you’re left with a thick, fudgy mixture as seen in the pic above.
  7. Oil the side of a baking tray or – recommended – a silicone baking tray with some coconut oil. I melt the coconut oil first, drizzle it on the tray and then spread using the back of a spoon.
  8. Add the mixture to the baking tray, making sure to beat it down and together gently using the back of a spoon.
  9. Bake for 35 mins. Pierce with a skewer after this time and if it comes out clean, you’re good to go! If not – stick the mixture back into the oven for a few mins.
  10. Place the ‘loaf’ onto a cooling rack and leave to cool for at least 10 mins before cutting and serving.

A little motivation for the day

The most common types of accounts on my 2015 feed were foodspiration accounts. This certainly won’t be changing, but instead, I’ll be adding a lot more fitspiration in there too. I came across this video posted by the inspirational Brian Keane this morning. Although he only says a few words, they are very, very motivating!

 

If you like what you’ve read today, don’t forget to check out my Facebook and Instagram pages to keep up with all the latest, or drop your email into the subscription box below! ๐Ÿ™‚

As always,

thanks for reading!

Happy eating and gymming. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ryan.

4 thoughts on “Sugar-free protein brownies

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑